#LCAM15     17,280 people were diagnosed with lung cancer in November alone. Every 2.5 minutes, another person hears the words that will forever change their life… and everyone around them.

1_in_13

To help raise awareness and shed light on lung cancer a group of lung cancer bloggers, made up of survivors and caregivers, wrote a profile every day in November. November is lung cancer awareness month and it is my passion to educate others so everyone knows: ANYONE CAN GET LUNG CANCER.

Many of the people profiled I’ve met in person, some I only “know” online, and a few I was just introduced to. I learned something from each profile and I hope you did too.

The fact is: YOU TOO will be touched by lung cancer in your lifetime. It may be a spouse, a child, other family member, co-worker, neighbor, or yourself – but we will ALL be affected one day. I don’t say this to scare you, but to inform you.

When that day comes, please remember that no one deserves this disease. We all deserve compassion, love, and kindness. Any cancer diagnosis is scary; it’s the words we all dread hearing. Yes there are risk factors, but there is also just bad luck and basic cellular biology.

love compassion

I thank those of you that took the time to not only read these profiles, but shared them in hopes of educating others. I pray you continue to share your knowledge with others when the occasion arises. I also thank all the bloggers who poured their hearts into this awareness campaign.

We’re stronger together!

If you missed any of the profiles or just want to read them again, you can find them all here: http://lcsmchat.com/

November may be over,
but for those with lung cancer,
the struggle continues 365 days of the year.

