I don’t make resolutions. They don’t work for me. Actually they don’t work for most people, but they continue to try. Just look at any gym in January and then compare it to February…big difference.
I’ve always been a fairly positive person. Being around negativity actually causes me to be very anxious and sometimes physically ill. Arguing, bickering, constant complaining, drama and gossip – it just drains your soul in my opinion. I try to eliminate negative energy from my life as much as possible. This became even more of a conscious act after being diagnosed with lung cancer.

Denali National Park in autumn, Alaska, USA, North America

Denali National Park in autumn, Alaska, USA, North America

I don’t know how many days I have left on this Earth with my family, I’ll be damned if I’m going to spend them focusing on all the crappy things in life. That’s not to say I don’t think of the bad, scary things. Of course I do; it’s human nature. I just don’t dwell on them especially if I can’t fix them. Although I do think most situations are changeable. Not my disease of course, but how I deal with it; how I act and react to it.
A lady in my bible study group told me she heard from a tv preacher that if you write down what you’re grateful for everyday – just 2 minutes a day- you will become more appreciative, content and at peace. (apparently there was a study) By purposefully reflecting only on the good things that happened that day, eventually it will become a habit and you’ll focus less and less on the negative.
So I thought “why not?” It can’t hurt. So guess what? I bought 3 small notebooks for a $1 each and I’m encouraging my daughter and husband to do the same. I literally gave my daughter her notebook during a commercial break on tv.

im grateful for
Full Definition of grateful from Merriam-Webster
1.  a : appreciative of benefits received       b : expressing gratitude
2.  a : affording pleasure or contentment : pleasing                                             b : pleasing by reason of comfort supplied or discomfort alleviated

It gives me a chance to reflect on my day. I acknowledge the things I didn’t like and would possibly like to change or do better, but I actually smile thinking about the good things and how many blessings I have in my daily life that may otherwise go unnoticed.

It’s easy to get caught up in a negative cycle. The world has so much hurt, pain, general disrespect for others, and so much we cannot control, but your thoughts…your attitude…how you treat others…how you respond to situations…that IS in your control. In fact that’s pretty much all you CAN control.

I plan to try really hard to continue doing this for at least 3 months and see if it helps me. I really have no doubt it will. Maybe it could help you too.

Remember friends…… every day is a gift. What are you grateful for?

