As a stage 4 lung cancer patient, I’ve been very lucky. I haven’t had to go to the ER since 2012. Until this week.

As many of you know, I traveled to Pensacola on Tuesday to meet Joe and see Godsmack. I had a stuffy nose when I woke up Wednesday morning thinking it was from the AC blowing on my head all night. I developed a slight cough by that night, but otherwise felt fine. Thursday I felt good enough to do a little yard work and cook around 4pm. My cough was getting worse but my temp was still 99⁰ and I tested negative for Covid.

Two hours later I decided I should go to urgent care but wasn’t sure I could drive so I called Stew to pick me up. We started to urgent care but he thought maybe we should go to the hospital instead. Once I arrived my temp was 103⁰ and my oxygen was 90%.

They took an X-ray which didn’t show anything but said they were admitting me and starting IV antibiotics because my WBC was 18k. The ER dr looked at me like I was dying with pity in his eyes. They see stage 4 lung cancer and immediately think this is fatal for me. It reminded me of when I was first diagnosed at 40. All the residents looked at me like that.

At that point I was negative for COVID, the flu, and RSV. I dreaded being admitted but knew it was where I should be.

My mom got a ride from my aunt and stayed in my room for an entire 24 hours. She just had knee surgery the day before 😞 and had to sit in a hard chair all night long. I’m so lucky she’s my mom.

Long story, slightly shorter, I will be getting out tomorrow evening (Monday). After all the other tests coming back negative (viral panels & cultures) the CT showed a hint of pneumonia in my lower left lobe. He said we caught it early and I might have become septic if I waited another day. They gave me 2 broad spectrum, hard-hitting antibiotics, and I’m doing a 5 day cycle of zosyn. I started steroids yesterday WOOHOO! I love and hate steroids. I feel much better but was up until 3am. I was able to walk a lap around the floor today with O2 and it only dropped to 93 and that was with taking the whole time. So no more oxygen! 😊

Joe was still working in Alabama for a few more weeks so he had to drive 8 hours to get home. Thanks to Dave for finishing his trucks so he wasn’t stressed out. Thanks to Stew for spending the first night with my furbabies and my friends for visiting them and giving them potty breaks until Joe could get there. We have such a great support system.

The hospital staff has been great. The nurses, assistants, and doctors are very nice and accompodating. I’m at Morton Plant which is in Clearwater and I have an amazing view of the intercoastal and 2 bridges. So I can sit by my window and watch the boats all day and the beautiful sunset at night. I’m impressed with the food menu and quality too.

It’s game #1 for the Niners today so Joe brought my earrings, socks, and his gnome for good luck. They looked great! 1-0 🏈

While I know this was a critically necessary stay, I hope I don’t have to visit the ER for at least another 11 years.